I am new to Massachusetts (transplanted from Vermont) and work in Framingham so I was looking for a good after work spot for fishing. I bought a kayak the other day and went out to Lake Cochituate but I wasn't a huge fan. I caught two small bass and a small pickerel that day on the North Lake and in the small swampy area between North and Middle.

I like quiet places without highways running through it.

I found Heard pond on a map and saw a few pictures of people with decent bass so decided to check it out.

It was overcast, sprinkling rain, and there were periodic heavy gusts of wind but those days are usually when I catch fish to remember.

My first cast was my only fish of the day and man was it a beast. In Vermont a big largemouth bass is 6 pounds and they hardly ever get bigger than that. This fish was 26 inches long and 6lbs by my boga grip scale. I wish I had a digital scale because I think it may have been bigger.

I'm calling this fish "Old Black Lip" because he had a rotten/black lower lip on his right side. I've attached a close up still from the video I took so you can see.

Anyways, I'm sure its probably the biggest fish I'll catch out of that pond but now I'm hooked.

If anyone catches Old Black Lip please post a photo and tell him I said hello.

-VTbassnpike

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:20 am

nice. i've only caught dinks at that place.

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:10 am

Man... A 26" bass should weight 8+lbs. She must have had no cheeze. Great catch nonetheless. Grats!!

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:14 am

Wow, nice work! I've never caught much there, but may have to try again soon.

Not sure how close you are to the Charles River, but I believe you can get in there from Framingham or Natick. There are tons of bass in the Charles.

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:14 am

I wish I had a digi scale...thanks guys!

Are there bass in the city parts of the Charles river?

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 12:00 pm