I know for most of you pins don't mean much but I am a novice angler and I wouldn't mind having one. The process requires that the fish be weighed on a "certified scale." I practice catch and release and I'm not going to kill a fish just to get it weighed, especially a lunker. So is there any answer besides lugging a bubbler with me everywhere I go? I cast from the shore so I'm constantly moving.

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 11:25 am

thats the biggest reason for me - kill/perm harm the fish for a metal piece?

na thanks and besides bringing the sucka there in an airator bucket
i dont know any other way

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 11:29 am

To me a pic of myself with a great fish beats a pin anyday

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 11:43 am

I have thought about that myself after I caught a pin fish earlier this season...Next time, depending on the situation (ie, how much time I have), I will take a panfish to get certified if its a pin fish, just for the heck of it to have, then harvest it. If its a bass, I will only take it in if I think it could be a state record for the season 7-8+. And if that happens, then maybe I will use my get out of jail free card and get it mounted, as it may never happen again in MA. But I'm still not sure I would even do this, as I am so used to always releasing my bass. Photo, release.

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 5:04 pm

While I agree it's healthy for population only taking a total of maybe 5 -10 fish in my life for pins I don't really see as a huge impact on the mass bass population. I am an eater of some of my catch and as stated before in some of my posts I do it sparingly and typically release big fish but the miniscule amount I would take for pins would be no more harmful.