I am a student at umass lowell and im looking for some good fishing holes in the dracut, lowell or Merrimac River area. Any input is appreciated. Go Fish

Posted Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:54 pm

i never fished around lowell area but you can fish @ all along route 110. i know you prob already knew that hehe but stripers are running down @ lawrence dam. if your new to area lawrence dam is @rt28

Posted Tue May 17, 2011 9:53 pm

Hey PH23249,

I am also a student at Umass Lowell. You commute or live on campus? (Do you have car access and/or a boat?) If so I can recommend some good places a short car ride from Lowell. I don't have a boat so my recommendations are mostly shore related.

There's lots of great fishing in the area. There's the Merrimack River which you already mentioned, Its got Smallmouth, Salmon, Carp, Walleye, and on and on...

There's also the Concord River, which empties into the Merrimack. I have pulled many a bass and some pike out of there, especially the Billerica portion, which is a pretty short distance from campus. Its easily one of my three favorite places to fish.

There's also Nuttings Pond in Billerica, which is good for bass.

And Mascopic Lake, which is very close to North Campus, but fishing from shore there is very tough, you kind of need a boat to get good access, which I don't have so I hardly ever go there.

Another place is Winnings Pond, which I still gotta give a shot, I think thats in Chelmsford maybe... its right off Rte 3, exit 28 or 29 i think.

And then theres some places in Tygnsboro, which I havent tried yet. I read about them on the MassWildlife website and want to try them out soon too.

Posted Wed May 18, 2011 8:31 pm

I as well am a student at UML. I commute from Medford. There are stripers and some pike in the Mac if you have the right gear.

Posted Wed May 18, 2011 9:28 pm

Anyone ever pull one of the walleyes they got in the Merrimac?

Posted Wed May 25, 2011 1:17 am